David Oyelowo

Image of David Oyelowo

David Oyelowo was born in Oxford in 1976. His family originates from Nigeria. David studied Theatre Studies for A level and his teacher suggested he should become an actor. After A levels David enrolled for a year on an Art foundation course. In December 2000 David became the first black actor to play an English monarch for the RSC taking the title role in Henry VI. His performance won him the 'Ian Charleson' Award 2001 for best newcomer in a classical play.



2019 Movies Chaos Walking as Aaron
2018 Movies Les Misérables as Javert
2018 Movies A Wrinkle in Time as The It (voice)
2018 Movies Gringo as Harold Soyinka
2018 Movies The Cloverfield Paradox as Kiel
2017 Movies Family Feud as
2017 Movies August 28: A Day in the Life of a People as
2017 Movies The Lion Guard: The Rise of Scar as Scar
2016 Movies A United Kingdom as Seretse Khama
2016 Movies Five Nights in Maine as Sherwin
2016 Movies Star Wars Rebels: Steps Into Shadow as Agent Kallus (voice)
2016 Movies Nina as Clifton Henderson
2015 Movies Captive as Brian Nichols
2015 Movies Star Wars Rebels: The Siege of Lothal as Agent Kallus (voice)
2014 Movies A Most Violent Year as D.A. Lawrence
2014 Movies Selma as Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
2014 Movies 9 Kisses as Arm Wrestling Man #1
2014 Movies Interstellar as Principal
2014 Movies Default as
2014 Series Star Wars Rebels as Agent Kallus (voice)
2014 Movies Star Wars Rebels: Spark of Rebellion as Agent Kallus (voice)
2013 Movies The Butler as Louis Gaines
2013 Movies Complicit as Edward Ekubo
2012 Movies Jack Reacher as Emerson
2012 Movies Lincoln as Corporal Ira Clark
2012 Movies The Paperboy as Yardley Acheman
2012 Movies Middle of Nowhere as Brian
2012 Movies Red Tails as Joe 'Lightning' Little
2011 Movies 96 Minutes as Duane
2011 Movies The Help as Preacher Green
2011 Movies Rise of the Planet of the Apes as Steven Jacobs
2010 Series Blood And Oil as
2009 Series Small Island as Gilbert
2009 Movies Rage as Homer
2008 Movies Sweet Nothing in My Ear as Leonard Grisham
2008 Series The Passion as Joseph of Arimathea
2008 Movies A Raisin in the Sun as Joseph Asagai
2007 Series Five Days as
2006 Movies Born Equal as Yemi
2006 Movies The Last King of Scotland as Dr. Thomas Junju
2006 Movies Shoot the Messenger as
2006 Movies As You Like It as Orlando De Boys
2005 Movies Derailed as Patrol Officer
2005 Movies The Best Man as Graham
2005 Movies A Sound of Thunder as Payne
2002 Movies Tomorrow La Scala! as
2001 Movies Dog Eat Dog as CJ