Shetland (BBC-1 2013, Douglas Henshall, Alison O’Donnell)

Shetland (BBC-1 2013, Douglas Henshall, Alison O’Donnell)

Crime drama series in which Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez investigates murder on Scotland’s Shetland Isles.

Based on novels by Ann Cleeves (like ITV series Vera), the series which is mostly not filmed on the Shetland Isles (but obviously does make great play of the amazing Isle scenery when it needs to) began life with a two part pilot broadcast 10-11 March 2013 before graduating to a six part series beginning 11 March 2014.

Season three saw the season format change to one continuous story rather than stand alone two-parters.

Pilot and first season stories all based on novels by Cleeves, these were Red Bones, Raven Black, Dead Water and Blue Lightning.

season by season

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

production info

  • Year of Release: 2013
  • Country: UK | BBC-1 – BBC Scotland
  • Language: English
  • Runtime: 60 minutes

  • trailers

Douglas Henshall

D.I. Jimmy Perez

Julie Graham

Rhona Kelly, Procurator Fiscal

Mark Bonnar

Duncan Hunter