Ackley Bridge (Channel 4 2017, Jo Joyner, Paul Nicholls)

Ackley Bridge (Channel 4 2017, Jo Joyner, Paul Nicholls)

Ackley Bridge is a schools set drama series starring Jo Joyner, Paul Nicholls, Sunetra Sarker, Arsher Ali, Liz White, Adil Ray, Poppy Lee Friar and Amy-Leigh Hickman.

Ackley Bridge is a Yorkshire mill town, home to a largely divided white and Asian population. Like the communities, the school systems have also become segregated. However as two formerly isolated comprehensives are merged into a brand new academy, Ackley Bridge College, the lives and cultures of each are set to collide.

It’s the first day at the newly integrated school, and best friends and neighbours Missy (Lee Friar) and Nas (Hickman) are now attending the same school for the very first time. Nas’s more conservative school friends take against Missy. Nas sides with her school friends and Missy, fuelled by anger, decides to play dangerous liaisons.

Meanwhile English teacher Emma Keane (White) gets a shock when she finds out that she’ll be working with her ex-boyfriend Sami (Ali). She then gets a further surprise when her 15-year-old daughter Chloe (Fern Deacon) drunkenly bursts into her classroom, having caught a cab from Peckham.

Elsewhere, Head Teacher Mandy (Joyner) has problems of her own and puts her husband, PE teacher Steve (Nicholls), in charge of troubled pupil Jordan (Samuel Bottomley), but Jordan might prove too much for him to handle – especially when he crudely points out how close Mandy’s getting to school sponsor Sadiq Nawaz (Ray).

season by season

1 |

production info

  • Year of Release: 2017
  • Country: UK | Channel 4
  • Language: English
  • Runtime: 45 minutes

  • trailers

Jo Joyner

Mandy Carter

Paul Nicholls

Steve Bell

Liz White

Emma Keane

Amy-Leigh Hickman

Nasreen "Nas" Paracha

Poppy Lee Friar

Missy Booth

Sunetra Sarker

Kaneez Paracha

Adil Ray

Sadiq Nawaz

Anneika Rose

Lila Shariff

Tom Varey

Will Simpson

Samuel Bottomley

Jordan Wilson

Fern Deacon

Chloe Voyle

Lorraine Cheshire

Lorraine Bird

Maariah Hussain

Alya Nawaz

Nazmeen Kauser

Razia Paracha