Blake's 7

Blake's 7 (1978)

Scifi drama series Blake’s 7 was set in the third century of the second calendar where a group of rebel outlaws try to keep one step ahead of the seemingly all powerful Federation and its female head Servalan.

Roj Blake was the leader of the outlaws, he had been imprisoned on trumped up charges because the Federation considered him a threat. Whilst on board a prison ship bound for a convict planet he and a several others managed to escape and take over a super ship (The Liberator) from another galaxy.

Other key personnel included the no scruples at all Kerr Avon (who following Blake’s departure at the end of seven two would assume the role of leader – however Avon was out for himself), cowardly thief Villa and the two women Jenna and Cally. Also heavily involved was the sinister leader of the Federation Servalan and her number one henchman Travis.

In the final episode Blake returned and was killed by Avon who thought Blake had betrayed them, and in the closing moments the whole of the regular crew were killed in a gun battle with federation guards.

Broadcast 2 January 1978 – 21 December 1981

season by season

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

production info

  • Year of Release: 1978
  • Country: UK | BBC One
  • Language: English
  • Runtime: 52×50 minutes

Michael Keating

Vila Restal

Josette Simon

Dayna Mellanby (seasons 3-4)

Paul Darrow

Kerr Avon

Steven Pacey

Del Tarrant (seasons 3-4)

Peter Tuddenham

Zen / Slave / ORAC

Gareth Thomas

Roj Blake (Seasons 1-2)

Sally Knyvette

Jenna Stannis (seasons 1-2)

Jan Chappell

Cally (seasons 1-3)

David Jackson

Olag Gan (seasons 1-2)

Stephen Greif

Space Commander Travis

Brian Croucher

Travis (Season 2)

Stephen Yardley

Investigator Reeve

Tom Chadbon

Del Grant

Brian Capron


Roy Kinnear


David Quilter

The Tracer

Leslie Schofield

Sub-Commander Raiker

Paul Daneman

Dr. Bellfriar

Aubrey Woods


Larry Noble